Read, Write, Reflect, Repeat.

1 Mar

The last few weeks have been good for me as a writer and a blogger.  I talked three of my friends into starting blogs, and offered advice on where to start, what to write, why everyone can benefit from having a blog.  I read a few new blogs, met a few new people, and had some thoughtful conversations through comments.  I began reading Wild Mind: Living the Writer’s Life by Natalie Goldberg at the suggestion of a writer friend (who is the next person I’m going to convince to start a blog).  The book talks about making your mind free to write, keeping your pen moving, and writing writing writing often.  Upon reading and reflecting on my own writing/ blogging habits, I realized some things:

1) I realized that despite my reading blogs, getting friends to start them, and commenting, it’s been far too long since my last post.

2) I realize that I’ve had dry spells between posts before.

3) I realized why this happens.

The reason I stop posting for weeks at a time is not because I have a shortage of ideas, but just the opposite.  I have a list of 5 or 6 things to post about, two of which are mostly written out already, but I haven’t posted any of them.  Why? Because I’m pickyToo picky with what I post.  Then I loose momentum.  Then I spend weeks writing a post, little by little, to make sure it’s good to make up for the lack of posts.

Solution: stop being so damn picky with what I post and just post.

It’s the only way to keep my pen moving, to get more people reading this, to really get this blog where I want it to be.  Plus I love to write, I love to post, I love it when my friends read and talk to me about posts, and I love even more when new people read and start a conversation.  I’ve been brainstorming on how I want to combine and the long neglected Prestopedia Blog, what kinds of things to post, details details details.  But this planning process also took the place of actually posting.  This blog will be getting a face lift soon, a new name (possibly moving to a new address), a seriously awesome blog roll for seriously awesome blogs, and more frequent posts.

So check back or subscribe to the RSS feed by using this nifty button  

And now, my dear readers, I must ask you:

What keeps you from posting sometimes? Writers Block?  No good ideas?  Too many good ideas?  Aliens stole your keyboard?  Don’t be shy now, leave a comment!

9 Responses to “Read, Write, Reflect, Repeat.”

  1. nixonagnew March 1, 2010 at 1:25 am #

    I haven’t posted anything since February 16th. I usually post a serious post on Tuesday, and a play post (often answering seven survey-type questions) on Friday. But I got busy, had a spat with Ian, and ran out of things to say for the last two-ish weeks and that was the end of that.

    • hellopresto March 1, 2010 at 3:47 am #

      A regular posting schedule is nice (like PCC 🙂 but I feel like if you have nothing to post, or don’t have time to post, it’s not a biggie unless you have a publicly posted schedule.

      • nixonagnew March 1, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

        lol, the very title of my blog insinuates something important about Tuesday (“Nixon: Today, Tomorrow, and Tuesday”)… So I always feel like a jerk when I neglect it.

  2. Jessica March 1, 2010 at 2:08 am #

    Natalie Goldberg saved my life too. Keep on writing!!

    • hellopresto March 1, 2010 at 3:50 am #

      She’s amazing. After I devour Wild Mind I might need to check out more of her books.

      • Jessica March 2, 2010 at 12:58 am #

        I just finished this book! the last chapter is the BEST. don’t cheat and read it!

  3. Andy Bonjour March 1, 2010 at 3:26 am #

    my writers block comes from tiredness… and other things to do. Not that I do the other things, but the thought of it seems to preoccupy me I guess.

    I’ve never had aliens steal my keyboard…something to watch out for I guess.

    • hellopresto March 1, 2010 at 3:57 am #

      Thanks for the comment Andy. After a day at work, I’m tired, and writing tends to be tough. And I know what you mean by thoughts of things to do getting in the way; if I know I have nothing I need to do, or at least nothing else that I could be doing other than writing, it’s much easier to write.
      This is explained in a little more detail in my last post “The Gift of Receiving.”

      Looking forward to seeing more comments from you!

  4. Ted Leach March 1, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    I’ll have to check out this book. As far as what keeps me from posting, historically it’s been not working ahead and either not scheduling or over-scheduling myself for postings. I’ve burned out in at least three different blogs because of these. These are the two beasts I’m trying to deal with in this new venture — I’m working ahead, setting myself reasonable goals as far as posting, and basically ensuring I keep moving.

Leave a Reply

