Every Post is a Collaborative Work

9 Dec

I can’t say that I take complete credit for the last post  The Writer’s Block.  Yes, I wrote it myself and yes, the ideas were all my own.  But if it were not for the influence of several people all at the same time, the post wouldn’t have been written, let alone posted, and this blog would have remained without new posts as it has for too many weeks now.  Let me start with the first influence that  kick started me into the blog writing mindset.

His name is Matt Cheuvront, better known to some as Matt Chevy.  If you haven’t heard of him or read his blog Life Without Pants, go read something, anything off his blog. Right now.  I’ll wait.

Good stuff right?  It was on his blog that I read a recent psot Write With Passion. The Rest Will Fall Into Place. It talks about his humble blogging beginnings (Xanga in the early 90’s. Don’t worry Matt, I had a LiveJournal. No shame), writing because you love to write, and not letting labels get in the way of your writing.  Bam: hit my problem right on the nose.  I do love to write, but I have two blogs, and I’m always trying to pigeonhole my ideas to fit into one or another, and end up not posting at all.  I chewed on that idea for a few days before my next kick in the butt to get my blog writing started again.  Also, there’s another blogger by the name of Carlos Miceli who write a post on his blog Owl Sparks titled To Hell With Personal Branding.  After reading this post and also thinking about if for a few days, it reinforced the ideas that started with Matt’s post about just writing, being yourself, and the rest falling into place.  Thanks guys.

I have another friend who isn’t a blogger, she’s a psychologist.  She travels all over the United States, working suicide cases, interviewing families, and investigating causes and scenes.  A somewhat morbidly serious job, but (to me at least) an interesting job and lifestyle to have.  The places she travels to aren’t always big cities or places most people would travel to, and everywhere she went, there was an elaborate story and a vivid experience taking place.  I eventually convinced her to make a blog about her own thoughts and emotions during her travels around the country (among other things), and after a few posts, she finally let me read it.  I could hear her voice in the entries immediately, and loved all the details and well written episodes; each entry is candid, vivid, well written, and usually humorously cynical.  She’s never been much of a blogger that I’ve know about, but she should be.  Take a look at her blog, Square One, and see for yourself.  And it made me realize I’d encouraged my friend to make a really great blog, while I sat on the sidelines, my own blogs gathering dust.  While’s Matt’s post got me thinking about stripping the labels off, her posts got me thinking about my writing on a personal level that I missed.  Another stepping stone forward.

This post is getting long.  It might not be a post that gets a lot of comments, or that people pass along to friends, but… “write with passion and the rest will fall into place,” right?  And I enjoy writing posts, and writing in general.  Writing and good conversation get me thinking in ways I can’t think otherwise.  Which brings me to my next nudge on my path back to blogging, the person I have amazing conversations with almost every night.  That person is my closest friend and girlfriend Lauren.  Even after over a year of dating and talking every day, we still constantly have intelligent conversations.  Besides being a great listener and very supportive of all my endeavors, she’ll always bring up a point or offer a perspective on something I wouldn’t have thought of, and I love that.  It makes me always wonder if there’s something I haven’t thought of and keeps me on my toes.

The last little nudge to writing that I got wasn’t directly from a specific person; it was music.  Every once in a while, you just get into that groove or train of thought you can write about, and for me, that rarely happens without music.  A lot of the time, it’s music via Groove Salad on Somafm or Groovera.com, but this time it was specifically the song Sleepyhead by Passion Pit.  Just a funky personal side note that no writing session of mine is complete without.

Ah, there.  I feel much better now that I’ve given credit where it’s due.   And I’ll feel even better once I’ve solved my blogging identity issues and combined my two blogs into one.  But until then, I’ll be posting here with a refreshed sense of purpose to write.  Good feelings all around.  I also have to give credit to my friend Cheri aka Nixon.  I’ve watched her web comic Pictures of Crying Children go from a small blog, to a regularly updated, very well done web comic; a feat of persistence that comes from her love of what she does.  She’s always supportive of my online projects, so once again, credit where credit is due.

If you’ve read through this whole, long, and probably overly detailed post, I’d love to hear from you. Even if it’s just “Hi, you long  post is loong.”  Or tell me about something you do, whether it be writing, art, etc, that wouldn’t be possible without some inspiration from the folks around you. How much do those people around you inspire/influence your creativity? (even if you don’t write a whole long post about it)

7 Responses to “Every Post is a Collaborative Work”

  1. katwalk65 December 9, 2009 at 5:49 am #

    Let’s collaborate. I’m at imuafilm

    Katherine

  2. Matt Cheuvront December 9, 2009 at 6:58 pm #

    Thanks for the shout bud. Glad I could get some thoughts flowing for you. One of my 2010 goals is to read more, a lot more. Books, blogs, etc. Did a lot of that this morning and it really makes me feel like I can take on the world – I get so inspired by everyone out there doing big things. Cheers!

    • hellopresto December 10, 2009 at 2:34 pm #

      Sounds like a good goal, especially since one of my goals is to write more. Goes like peanut butter and jelly. Everyone does big things, and inspires everyone else to do big things. Looks like a good system to me!

  3. nixonagnew December 9, 2009 at 11:39 pm #

    Preston, I greatly enjoy reading your work. I have also been trying to become a better blogger. I go through stints when I update regularly and more comprehensively and then others when I post next to nothing for weeks. My problem is that I often have no idea what to blog about. I’m also faced with the twitter problem. With microblogging, I often find that on Tuesdays when I sit down and try to write, I’ve written everything there is to write.

    oh, and thanks for the shout out. haha

    • nixonagnew December 10, 2009 at 1:14 am #

      I also meant to mention how “every post is a collaborative work” is reflective of artists as well… Everything that’s created nowadays is pretty much always a response- often a response to a response to a response to a response, etc.

    • hellopresto December 10, 2009 at 2:36 pm #

      Thanks Cheri! I find myself going through the same non-writing stints. I usually have a bunch of ideas, but none that I think fit the blog. But I’m working on being more flexible as far as what goes on here. A blog with a broader range of topics is better than a blank one!

      • nixonagnew December 10, 2009 at 10:38 pm #

        I agree completely!

Leave a Reply

