Keeping your pen sharp

6 Jan

The pen is as much a part of the hand as your thumb or your palm.  Granted the pen might change size, shape, and color a bit more often than other parts of your hand, it still follows some of the same tendencies.  Like exercise.

If you want to have a strong hand, say for example you want to have a fit thumb, you have to use it to keep it in shape.  So you decide to thumb wrestle everyone you encounter.  Your mom.  Your boss.  Your girlfriend.  The guy you buy your morning coffee and newspaper from.  If you want to keep your pen in shape, you’ve got to do the same thing.  While you’re pen isn’t a muscle, it’ll still grow and improve the more you use and especially if you apply it to things you normally wouldn’t.

My grandmother calls my mother about (and this isn’t an exaggeration) 4-8 times a day to tell her very random things involving the family in a very scatterbrained way.  I told her today that instead of calling 8 times a day, to write down what she wants to say, exactly how she would say them, and email them to me.  Besides cutting down the frenzied phone calls my mom gets, it should make for some very original material that is more random then I could ever possibly come up with.  A perfectly unusual way to keep my pen in shape.

Seems that the pen is more a part of your brain than a part of your hand.

4 Responses to “Keeping your pen sharp”

  1. mike January 8, 2009 at 5:37 am #

    Very true stuff. I don’t think I ever told you this, but I write stories every now and then, I guess to keep my imagination strong.

    I just hope some of the crap I get into warrants a good paragraph or two by you eventually. lol

    And is it alright if I leave thoughts on what you write? I don’t know whether you set this up for criticism or just for practice and show.

    • hellopresto January 10, 2009 at 1:34 am #

      Cool. I don’t think you ever did mention that you wrote.
      And write, comment away! Thoughts about whatever I write on here is welcome.

  2. Sarah January 10, 2009 at 4:50 am #

    …Very true but what would happen if the pen ever ran out of ink? Would those thoughts fade into the back of your mind until you recover them again?

  3. Lauren January 11, 2009 at 3:12 am #

    Pens may run out of ink but ‘you’ will never run out of pens.
    I do agree with if you write down your thoughts at least they have been expressed and not bundled up all inside.
    I look forward to more entries Preston! Especially the ones from your travels and stories from your Grandma!

Leave a Reply

